Through these early years, your child will follow the Early Years Foundation Stage framework (EYFS), which provides a flexible and stimulating development programme tailored to your child’s unique individual needs. Children mostly develop in the three prime areas first: communication and language; physical development; and personal, social and emotional development. As they grow, these three prime areas will help them develop skills in four specific areas: literacy; mathematics; understanding the world; and expressive arts and design.

1. Communication and language
This involves giving your child opportunities to experience a rich language environment, to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

2. Physical development
This involves providing opportunities for your child to be active and interactive; and to develop their coordination, control and movement. Your child must also be helped to understand importance of physical activity, and how to make healthy choices in relation to food.

3. Personal, social and emotional development
Involves helping your child to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others, to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups and to have confidence in their own abilities.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As your child grows, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in specific areas. These are:

1. Literacy
This involves encouraging your child to look at books, poems and other writing materials to ignite their interests, it also involves encouraging your child to link sounds and letters and begin to read and write.

2. Mathematics
This is about providing your child with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers – calculating simple addition and subtraction problems, describing shapes, spaces, and measures.

3. Understanding the world
This involves guiding your child to make sense of the world around them, and their community, by giving them opportunities to explore, observe, and find out about people, places, technology and their environment.

4. Expressive arts and design
Involves enabling your child to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas, and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role play, and design and technology.

These areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. Our teachers will make sure that the activities are tailored to your child’s individual needs. The curriculum is designed to be flexible so that our teachers can follow your child’s unique needs and interests. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Our staff are highly skilled in planning for children’s individual needs and interests. This way of planning supports children to make the best possible progress from their starting points and prepares them for their future learning in school.

By kind permission of Charlie Mackesy